Great Dane Club of Northern California

Annual Meeting: January 31, 2015

<u>Members Voting</u>: Everett Van Dyken, Kate Jackson, Mick Galvin, Kevin Forrest, Dorothy Forrest, Debbi McMurdie, Sharon McCrary, Pat Dousman, Sue Holbrook, Bill Labiak, Mabel Labiak, Sam Gillette, Denise Williams, Jan Purdy, Lorrie Spencer, Nancy Bruno.

Meeting Called to Order at 11:17 AM by Everett Van Dyken

Additional Items: Catalog ad drawing, membership application

<u>Correspondence</u>: Nothing to report

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>:

- Financial Statements for November and December reviewed and discussed.
- By-laws proposed amendment discussed. There is a difficulty with getting a CPA to complete an "audit". Formal audits cost approximately \$15,000. Wording in current By-laws imply an "audit" where the intent is to have an accountant do an annual review which would save us money in the long run and prevent internal fraud. Meeting members were given a secret ballot and voting indicated their agreement (100%). Proposed changed By-law will be sent to GDCA board for approval.
- GDCA dues were paid. Updated list of members, officers and board of directors will be sent to GDCA.
- Motion to retain membership in the California Federation of Dog Clubs and the Sacramento Council of Dog Clubs at a cost not to exceed \$50 each was made by Bill Labiak and seconded by Denise Williams. Motion passed.

Education: Nothing to report

<u>Membership</u>: New application submitted by Peter Timm, DVM. Dorothy Forrest was voted in as our newest member.

Ways and Means: Nothing to report

<u>Web site</u>: Motion by Kate Jackson and seconded by Denise Williams to look into the possibility of a "closed" Facebook page for members only in lieu of no newsletter at this time. Dorothy Forrest and Debbie McMurdie will work on this project and report back next month. Motion passed.

<u>Discipline</u>: Nothing to report

Show:

- Lunches: Club would like to utilize a community outreach resource. Dorothy, Everett and Bill are working on this and should have something by the end of the week.
- Sweepstakes judges: Everett will contact in order Carol Grossman, Kathleen Davis, Valerie Metcalf, Laura Munro, Lorraine Matherly and Allison Paxton as votes indicated that as the member's choices.
- Photographer: Cook Photography will not_be able to work the specialties. Olga will be our photographer. Ideas to indicate placement in pictures ensued. Kate will check into options.
- Memorials: Motion made by Kate Jackson and seconded by Mabel Labiak to devote two pages in the catalog as memorials to Paul Picciau and Pete Fredotovich and to dedicate the 2015 specialties to Paul.
- 2016 Specialty Judges (listed in order of votes received):
 - o 1 Jill Ferrera
 - o 2 Pam Winter, Leon Reimert
 - o 3 Nikki Riggsbee, Donna Clark
 - o 4 Christina Hubbell
 - o 5 John Walsh, Judy Harrington
- Catalog ad winner was Sue Holbrook

<u>Election</u>: Kate Jackson moved and Denise Williams seconded to approve the slate as proposed. Motion passed. Everett appointed Denise Williams to fill the vacated board position left by Debbie McMurdie and Sue Holbrook to fill the board position vacated by Lorrie Spencer. Motion to approve made by Mabel Labiak and seconded by Bill Labiak. Motion passed.

President: Everett Van Dyken (2017) Vice-president: Denise Matulich (2017)

Treasurer: Bill Labiak (2017)

Recording Secretary: Debbie McMurdie (2017) Corresponding Secretary Lorrie Spencer (2017) GDCA Delegate: Lorraine Matherly (2017)

Board of Directors:

Pat Dousman (2017) Mabel Labiak (2017) Sam Gillette (2017) Kate Jackson (2016) Denise Williams (2016) Sue Holbrook (2016)

Next Meeting: February 28, 2015 at Royce Farms Restaurant commencing at 11AM.

Meeting adjourned at 12:15 PM